Permanent settlement in Mundaring began in 1882-84 when Mr Peter Gugeri established a vineyard south of the Eastern Railway. The first railway siding at Mundaring was named after him and for some years the area was generally known as "Gugeris". A later settler, M H Jacoby, took over Gugeris' vineyards in 1893, and named the business the "Mundaring Vineyard Company". The name came from an Aboriginal camp situated nearby and the meaning given to Jacoby by the aborigines was "a high place on a high place". The correct pronunciation was "Mundahring" but common usage has gradually converted this to "Mundairing".
Life in Mundaring
Known as the heart of the Perth hills, Mundaring is located on the eastern edge of the Perth hills and is home to just over 3,000 people. It offers stunning walking and cycling trails, spectacular state forest and national parks and home to the historic Mundaring Weir. Other facilities include two primary schools (Sacred Heart School and Mundaring Primary School) and one secondary school (Mundaring Christian College).