• Western Australian real estate professionals clean up at national Awards for Excellence


    It was a big night for Western Australia at the Real Estate Institute of Australia’s 2018 National Awards for Excellence, with WA winners taking out four categories, including REIWA Past President David Airey winning the prestigious President’s Award.

    WA Buyer’s Agent Kent Cliffe was also inducted into the Hall of Fame for his wins in the Buyer’s Agent of the Year category in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

    REIWA CEO Neville Pozzi said he was delighted to see WA so thoroughly represented last night, with 15 nominees and four winners – the most of any state.

    "It’s no secret the WA market has presented significant challenges for local real estate professionals over the past couple of years. It’s a testament to all WA’s nominees and winners that, despite these conditions, the standard of service they provide their clients and the wider community has continued to excel and improve,” Mr Pozzi said.

    In addition to the President’s Award, WA winners also included Mint Real Estate Claremont for Small Residential Agency of the Year, Peter Clements for Residential Salesperson of the Year and Laura Levisohn for Residential Property Manager of the Year.

    “I would like to congratulate all of the WA winners and thank them for their wonderful efforts in providing a superior service to their clients and community and for representing WA so well on the national stage,” Mr Pozzi said.

    After winning the Kevin Sullivan Award at the REIWA Awards for Excellence in September 2017, Mr Airey was presented with the 2018 President’s Award by REIA President Malcolm Gunning.

    The President’s Award recognises the significant contribution made by an individual to the real estate profession. When presenting the Award, Mr Gunning said Mr Airey was a residential and commercial property expert and a prominent media spokesman who had been very giving of his time and worked tirelessly for the benefit of the industry.

    “A real estate practitioner since 1973 and licensed agent since 1976, David Airey served on REIWA's Council from 2003-2015, was REIWA's longest serving president from 2011-2015, a REIA board member from 2006-2012 and REIA President from 2009-2011. He served on most REIWA committees and networks, and in 2017 was awarded REIWA's prestigious Kevin Sullivan Memorial Award,” Mr Gunning said.

    Mr Pozzi said Mr Airey was a very worthy winner of the President’s Award and a valued member of the Institute and wider real estate community.

    “David is a man of integrity who has had a profound impact on real estate in WA. He is an advocate for the free market and private property rights, and believes experience, honesty and high ethical standards are critical for REIWA members and the industry at large.

    “David has left behind an incredible legacy at REIWA and is the only person in the Institute’s 100 year history to have served four consecutive years as President. On behalf of the Institute, I’d like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to David for this prestigious recognition of his excellent contribution to the industry,” Mr Pozzi said.

    The 13th National Awards for Excellence was held Thursday 22 March at a gala dinner at Doltone House in Sydney.

    REIA 2018 National Awards for Excellence – WA winners

    Find more award winning local WA property experts.

    Image: REIA President Malcolm Gunning with David Airey, winner of the President’s Award.